top of page
A Associação

About the Association

About the Association The Portuguese Association for Political Economy (EcPol) is a non-profit scientific
association with a multidisciplinary and transdisciplinary character which aims to promote teaching, research, dissemination, and public debate on

Political Economy in Portugal.

Membros Fundadores

Alexandre Abreu

Alexandre Silva

Alvaro Garrido

Americo Mendes

Ana Cordeiro Santos

Ana Cristina Costa

André Carmo

Antonio Carlos dos Santos

António Rafael Amaro

Arthur Trandafir

Aurora Castro Teixeira

Boaventura de Sousa Santos

Carlos Bastien

Carlos Farinha Rodrigues

Carlos Gomes Pepper

Carlos Manuel Gonçalves

Carlos Nuno Castel-Branco

Catarina Friar

Conceição Soares

Cristina Sousa

Daniel Seabra Lopes

Diogo Martins

Ester Gomes da Silva

Eugenia Saucer

Fatima Suleman

Francisca Guedes de Oliveira

Francisco Louçã

Francisco Vaz

Gonçalo Marcelo

Gonçalo Pessa

Helena Jerónimo

Helena Lopes

Hermes Augusto Costa

Hugo Dias

Hugo Pinto

Founding Members

Isabel Salavisa

Izaura Solipa Carvalho

Jessica Barcelos Rocha

Joana Marques

Joana Pereira Leite

Joao Risky Nunes

João Camargo

João Carlos Graça

João Carlos Lopes

João Cravinho

João Ferrão

João Ferreira do Amaral

João Paulo Avelãs Nunes

João Rodrigues

João Silva

João Vasco Pereira Coelho

Jochen Oppenheimer

Jorge Bateira

Jorge Malheiros

José António Pereirinha

José Castro Caldas

José Luís Garcia

José Manuel Henriques

José Nuno Matos

José Reis

José Soeiro

Leonardo Costa

Liliana Fernandes

Lina Paula David Coelho

Luís Francisco Carvalho

Luis Mah

Luisa Veloso

Manuel Branco

Manuel Brandão Alves

Manuel Ennes Ferreira

Manuel Mira Godinho

Maria Clara Murteira

Maria de Fatima Ferreiro

Maria Eduarda Gonçalves

Maria Manuela da Silva

Mariana Mortagua

Marisa Tavares

Marta Balcony

Marzia Grassi

Nuno Domingos

Nuno Ornelas Martins

Nuno Teles

Paula heather

Paulo Marques

Pedro Adam e Silva

Pedro Costa

Pedro Hespanha

Pedro Nogueira Ramos

Pedro Quartin Graça Simão José

Pillar Gonzalez

Raul Lopes

Renato Miguel do Carmo

Ricardo Cabral

Ricardo Noronha

Ricardo Paes Mamede

Ricardo Sequeiros Coelho

Rita Silva

Rogério Roque Amaro

Rui Branco

Rui Junqueira Lopes

Rui Vieira da Cunha

Samuel Cardoso

Sandra Maximiano

Sergio Minhalma Gomes

Silvia Ferreira

Teresa Cunha

Victor Neves

O que é Economia Política
Image by Ryoji Iwata

What is Political Economy

We define Political Economy as the scientific domain dedicated to the analysis of economic processes and outcomes in their respective institutional, historical, and geographic contexts, framing economic phenomena as being eminently shaped by social, political, legal, cultural, technological, and ecological factors.

Declaração de Princípios

Statement of Principles

Studies on economic phenomena have long suffered from an epistemological, theoretical, methodological and disciplinary narrowing, which has reduced the capacity to understand the world and intervene in it.


There are few in universities, in the media, in instances of political power and in the public debate in general, approaches capable of understanding economies in their specificity and complexity. It is this type of approach that Political Economy pursues.

By "Political Economy" we mean the scientific domain dedicated to the analysis of economic processes and results in the respective institutional, historical and geographic contexts, understanding economic phenomena as being eminently configured by factors of a social, political, legal, cultural, technological and ecological.

Because there is a lack of institutional recognition for a pluralist approach to the study of economic phenomena in terms of the issues, the disciplines involved, the theoretical references and methodologies; because the idea of an ethical and social responsibility of social scientists grows; and because we believe there is a critical mass in Portugal to contribute to a necessary scientific debate, we propose the constitution of a Portuguese Political Economy Association.

This Association will strive for the construction, consolidation and promotion of the Political Economy in Portugal. It will promote a multidisciplinary and interdisciplinary approach to the study of the production of living conditions in society, with the ultimate aim of its social, environmental and economic sustainability.

As an association, it is also proposed to defend and promote within higher education and research institutions the principles of pluralism and critical thinking, intrinsic to the University and fundamental to the democratic political debate. More specifically, it is proposed:

1. Foster teaching and research in Political Economy in Portugal as a multidisciplinary and interdisciplinary approach;

2. Demand from higher education and scientific research institutions the creation of the multidisciplinary and interdisciplinary scientific domain of Political Economy, namely for the purposes of teaching, funding research and evaluation;

3. Create spaces for sharing and discussing research work in Portugal in the field of Political Economy;

4. Promote public debate, contributing to the production of well-founded and plural information on economic processes and results, at a regional, national and international scale, on public policies and on the social dynamics and forms of collective action that condition them.

5. Contribute to the internationalization of research in Political Economy carried out in Portugal.

Governing Bodies


Governing Bodies - 2023-2025

Orgãos Sociais


Effective Members

Ana Costa (ISCTE-IUL) (presidente) 

Alexandre Abreu (ISEG/UL) 

Catarina Príncipe (doutoranda) 

Clara Murteira (FEUC) 

Daniel Seabra Lopes (ISEG/UL) 

Hugo Pinto (CES e FEUAlg) 

Joana Marques (A3S/ CIES-IUL) 

João Ferrão (ICS-ULisboa) 

João Rodrigues (FEUC)

Substitute Members

Amarílis Felizes (doutoranda) 

Ana Alves Silva (CoLabor) 

Carla Nogueira (FEUAlg) 

Gonçalo Marçal (doutorando) 

João Loureiro (doutorando) 

José Maria Castro Caldas (CoLabor e CES)

Maria da Conceição Rego (ECS-UÉvora)

Ricardo Noronha (FCSH/UNL) 

Sílvia Ferreira (FEUC)

General Assembly Board

Effective Members

Maria Eduarda Gonçalves (ISCTE-IUL) (presidente)

Jorge Bateira (docente reformado) 

Luísa Veloso (ISCTE-IUL)

Substitute Members

Cristina Pinheiro (doutoranda) 

Ricardo Cabral (ISEG/UL) 

Teresa Sá Marques (FLUP)

Fiscal Council

Effective Members

Elsa Fontaínha (ISEG/UL) (presidente) 

Alexandre Mergulhão (doutorando) 

Ana Rita Silva (doutoranda)

Substitute Members

André Carmo (ECT-UÉvora) 

João Fialho (doutorando) 

Rui Branco (FCSH/UNL)




On the fifth day of July two thousand and twenty-one, the elections for the governing bodies of the Portuguese Association for Political Economy were held. The elections took place in person between 9am and 5pm simultaneously at the Faculties of Economics in Coimbra and in Porto, and at the Lisbon School of Economics & Management (ISEG). The postal votes that, according to the Electoral Norms and Procedures, had to be sent a week before the electoral act, were also counted, which corresponded to eight scrutinized voters. After the elections, the respective polling stations sent the registered results by email to the President of the Electoral Commission, accompanied by a scanned copy of the electoral registers with the signatures of the voters.


After the final tabulation, the present minute was drawn up with the following results:



Only one list (list A), which obtained 37 votes.

Fiscal Council

Only one list (list A), which obtained 37 votes.

General Assembl

Only one list (list A), which obtained 37 votes.

Previous Governing Bodies

2017 - 2019
bottom of page